AA car insurance made me an offer (or not?)

edited 30 April 2010 at 1:29PM in Insurance & Life Assurance
3 replies 546 views
SuzkinSuzkin Forumite
517 Posts
Part of the Furniture 100 Posts Combo Breaker
✭✭
edited 30 April 2010 at 1:29PM in Insurance & Life Assurance
Just received letter re. automatic annual renewal for AA car insurance (I can't recall asking for 'automatic' renewal, anyway). I currently have ROADSIDE (paid £50.50) and HOME START (paid £53) insurance*, and luckily - through a combination of careful driving and not driving at all! - have not needed to call on the AA yet. :o

I asked to cancel the membership (expires in June) and the customer advisor said he would sell me ROADSIDE insurance only, for £29 for the entire year. Also, that if at any time I require HOMESTART then there would be a surcharge of approx. £30.

I am fairly new to driving: does this sound like a good offer? If the car is going to breakdown / not work, surely it would be near the house on setting out to drive? :o

Alternatively, I'm thinking of just cancelling the insurance, and then shopping for another deal when I start driving again (I'm job seeking and so whilst still holding onto my car, am only driving it now and again - to keep it in check/running over).

[* These prices exclude the discounts I received via the comparison sites - thanks very much, Martin!]

All advice / comments, welcome.

Replies

• Clive_WoodyClive_Woody Forumite
    5.5K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭
    See this article for getting cheap breakdown cover

http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/deals/cheap-breakdown-discounts

NB: standard roadside cover is £28 through the AA website so the advisor offering it for £29 is not exactly doing you any favours. If you use a cahsback website you can get £21 cash-back so actual cost of 1 year roadside cover is £7.

http://www.theaa.com/breakdown-cover/uk-breakdown/view-options.do

:D