Quick question

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Marriage, Relationships & Families
13 replies 1.4K views
d1965d1965 Forumite
41 Posts
Not sure i'm putting this in the right place really:rolleyes: but how much housekeeping do people take off their kids? 23 & 29 yr old both in employment with no real outgoings apart from mob phone bill(i have posted this somewhere else but can't find it
i'm not to crash hot on finding where things go:o on here yet.many thanks
:j living life as I choose to ;)


  • Do you buy all the food and cook for them? Do you their washing/ironing etc?
    grocery challenge Sept 2012 £21/£399
  • Pink.Pink. Forumite
    17.7K Posts
    Hi d1965,

    My children aren't old enough yet to think about asking them to contribute to housekeeping so I can't advise you but these threads from the MoneySaving in Marriages, Relationships & Families board may help:

    Son's housekeeping money!

    How much should I charge my dd for housekeeping etc?

    What to charge DS for housekeeping?

    I'll move your thread over to that board as you should get more replies there.

    Hi, Martin’s asked me to post this in these circumstances: I’ve asked Board Guides to move threads if they’ll receive a better response elsewhere(please see this rule) so this post/thread has been moved to another board, where it should get more replies. If you have any questions about this policy please email [EMAIL="abuse@moneysavingexpert.com"][email protected][/EMAIL].
  • d1965d1965 Forumite
    41 Posts
    thank you pink-winged. I cook 4 them and do their washing they do their own ironing when they need to!
    :j living life as I choose to ;)
  • d1965 wrote: »
    thank you pink-winged. I cook 4 them and do their washing they do their own ironing when they need to!

    I would say about 30% of their take home pay.
  • If they were mine, it would depend what they earn. I earned roughly £1000/month after tax and my mum took £200/month off me. I was pregnant at the time and trying to save though, so she may have been lenient with me!

    Now my b/f is earning about £1000/month (while I stay at home) and his parents take £400 for me, him and our 3 year old.
  • LakeukLakeuk Forumite
    1.1K Posts
    Part of the Furniture
    I would say about 30% of their take home pay.

    Depends how much they earn, at 30% it maybe cheaper for them both to move out and rent.

    OP - You'll find what people charge will vary alot from nothing to OTT, you have to weigh up how much you enjoy their company, whether they are taking you for granted in anything (you're spenting alot to support them under your roof).
  • LondonDivaLondonDiva Forumite
    3K Posts
    1,000 Posts Combo Breaker I've been Money Tipped!
    At least a third of their take home. They canb then choose to spend / save out of the rest of it.

    Bear in mind that if they were not there, your utility, council tax and food bills would be a lot less. You don't have that much free income & you have to run & manage a household oon a lot less than they have.

    I would definately make sure that you spend or save the money only on your needs (a holiday, occassional shopping or pampering binge etc) or use it towards the running of the house.

    If they want to save for a deposit for soemthing, they can do that out of the rest of their income - you're still a much cheaper option than sharing a flat or going it alone.
    "This is a forum - not a support group. We do not "owe" anyone unconditional acceptance of their opinions."
  • kindofagilrkindofagilr Forumite
    6.8K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts
    When I was at home, I earned £1000 a month and paid £300 a month board (that was for me and OH)
    Debt £30,823.48/£44,856.56 ~ 06/02/21 - 31.28% Paid Off
    Mortgage (01/04/09 - 01/07/39)
    £79,515.99/£104,409.00 (as of 05/02/21) ~ 23.84% Paid Off

    Lloyds (M) - £1196.93/£1296.93 ~ Next - £2653.79/£2700.46 ~ Mobile - £296.70/£323.78
    HSBC (H) -£5079.08/£5281.12 ~ HSBC (M) - £4512.19/£4714.23
    Barclays (H) - £4427.32/£4629.36 ~ Barclays (M) - £4013.78/£4215.82
    Halifax (H) - £4930.04/£5132.12 ~ Halifax (M) - £3708.65/£3911.20

    Asda Savings - £0

    POAMAYC 2021 #87 £1290.07 ~ 2020/£3669.48 ~ 2019/£10,615.18 ~ 2018/£13,912.57 ~ 2017/£10,380.18 ~ 2016/£7454.80

    ~ Emergency Savings: £0

    My Debt Free Diary (Link)
  • SilverbirdSilverbird Forumite
    782 Posts
    Part of the Furniture Combo Breaker Debt-free and Proud!
    I was earning around £800/£900 and paying £140 a month. I didn't spend most weekends at home though.
    Thrilled to be DEBT-FREE as of 26.03.10 :D
    Hubby DEBT-FREE as of 27.03.15 :D

    Debt at LBM (June '07): £8189.19
  • smudger1964smudger1964 Forumite
    679 Posts
    Part of the Furniture 500 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    my lad whos nearly 18 gives me £100 out of take home pay of around £400 he moaned about it at first I just showed him the paper with the rented flats in it and said feel free to leave now he hands it over every month no quibbling.
This discussion has been closed.
Latest MSE News and Guides

Reclaim payday loans

Get £100s or £1,000s back for being mis-sold

MSE Guides

25% off Dyson eBay outlet

Selected items, via code

MSE Deals