Bizarre calls from 'my computer maintenance department'

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Phones & TV
67 replies 36.5K views
miniemmaminiemma Forumite
470 posts
Part of the Furniture 100 Posts Name Dropper
✭✭
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Phones & TV
I've had a couple of these weird calls, caller ID says 'International out of area'.

They know my name and say that they are calling because I am using Windows operating system and they have been made aware that my computer is running slowly. They say they are from my computer maintenance department :confused:

They asked if I am the main user (yes) and asked if I have become aware of the computer booting up slowly (I said no). They claim that a program is starting when I start my computer and making it slow down.

I got bored at this point and told them I am a computer technician and that they should remove my number from their database.

He said 'oh you are a computer technician, sorry to bother you, good bye' :rolleyes:

As always, after the fact, I realise I should have let him tell me what I needed to do so that I could have a better idea of what to warn you all about :rolleyes: sorry, will do next time, as I am sure there will be a next time :rotfl:

Replies

• Reed_RichardsReed_Richards Forumite
    630 posts
    Part of the Furniture 500 Posts Combo Breaker
    ✭✭
    I am a computer technician and one or two of my clients have reported getting the same sort of cold call. It's presumably some sort of scam, but what are they trying to accomplish?
    Reed
  • SammzSammz Forumite
    3.4K posts
    They ask to get access to your PC. Guess the rest is obvious.
    OD Girls On Tour
    Barcelona 2008 - Dublin 2009
  • miniemmaminiemma Forumite
    470 posts
    ✭✭
    PHEW! I thought I was alone there for a while :D

No further calls here. Maybe someone will play along and let us know what they are trying to do/sell.
  • Reed_RichardsReed_Richards Forumite
    630 posts