Agricultural Occupancy Condition

Replies

• perrowperrow Forumite
    3 Posts
    Do you know if a couple who do not currently work in agriculture can buy an ag. tied smallholding with the intention of making it their main income once they take up occupation of the smallholding? Will this satisfy the conditions?
  • Richard_WebsterRichard_Webster Forumite
    7.6K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭
    Do you know if a couple who do not currently work in agriculture can buy an ag. tied smallholding with the intention of making it their main income once they take up occupation of the smallholding? Will this satisfy the conditions?

In principle, yes, I would expect it to do so, but it always important to look at the precise wording as there might be conditions as to the kind of agricultural use.
    RICHARD WEBSTER

As a retired conveyancing solicitor I believe the information given in the post to be useful assuming any properties concerned are in England/Wales but I accept no liability for it.
  • Debt_Free_ChickDebt_Free_Chick Forumite
    13.3K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'd be interested in Planning_Officer's comments on the case I cited. This was an 8 acre holding with a 1970s bungalow with an ag-tie. The bungalow was actually a replacement for a 200 year old house that was past economic repair where there was obviously no ag-tie.

Just dipping in before I go off to bed, but ......

This is a very unusual situation. Where the original building had an ag-tie, the same would almost certainly apply to any replacement.

But it is highly unusual for a new building to have an ag-tie, where the original did not. The rationale being that the old building was a simple "residence", so there would be no reason to impose an ag-tie.

Do you have the full planning history from the LA?
    Warning ..... I'm a peri-menopausal axe-wielding maniac ;)
  • perrow wrote: »