Giving blood

I would really like to give blood - but am scared! Pathetic I know...

Does it hurt? How often do you have to go? How long does it take? Will I look like a prune afterwards :rotfl: and how do I find out where to go to give blood?

Any advice and encouragement most welcome...

Thanks, Mo x

Comments

• fruityslh
    fruityslh Posts: 123 Forumite
    I have been giving blood for a few years now (12 donations), most areas have blood donations and they usually advertise in local papers or you can ring the blood donor helpline

Does it hurt - it can if you are not a fan of needles, but it doesn't bother me much, I feel raring to go after giving bllod, but some people can feel faint, don't worry the nurses look after you

It takes about 45 mins to 1 hour for the full process, they do take care of you, maybe longer for the first session as you need to fill in the forms and they go through your history

Most of all I feel really good after giving blood, doing my bit, my opinion is I never know when I might need it and as I have the rarest blood group in the UK they are always in short supply, so I give blood about every three - four months on average depending on holidays and illness

Go for it you will be glad you did

0845 7711 711
    https://www.blood.co.uk
    Pay all debts by Xmas 12 # 072 £1201.79/£15,105.68:eek:
    2012 Frugal Living Challenge
    Sealed Pot Challenge 5 #1711
  • Nile
    Nile Posts: 14,930
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Ambassador
    Hello Mightymo

Do something amazing today, save a life, give blood.

I've been a blood donor for (ahem) many years and have made 40 donations. I'll tell you straight, no porky pies.

On arriving at the blood collection centre, you will be handed a ring binder with information to read. You will take a seat and wait to be called.