New company car + payrise = into 40%

T4i
T4i Posts: 1,845
First Anniversary Combo Breaker
Forumite
Hi all,

I am really struggling to work out my current PAYE situation due to a couple changes recently. I was given the chance to jump into a company car after my private car developed some major faults. I am a field service engineer so do lots of miles per year.

I went for a Diesel company car as some sites I visit are restricted to diesel engines only - hybrids and electric cars are not permitted unfortunately. 

The car I have jumped into is a Skoda Octavia Estate 2.0 TDI SE L 150PS DSG SCR, Automatic with 117g/km CO2 with a list price of £33,280. This was registered April 2023.

I have also just been given a payrise, taking me to 57,048 PA. I also get a discretionary bonus of around 4k PA which has always been awarded to me since I started 7 years ago.

I also get private health care and a company contribution pension.

I would like to get back down into the 20% TAX bracket by pumping more into my pension, however, I am really struggling to work out what % I should be putting in.

Can anyone help? Is there a spreadsheet or simple calculation that someone can explain to a non-tax-number person like me please?

My tax code changed recently to K1500 w1m1 which I presume is to do with the company car.

Comments

• Dazed_and_C0nfused
    Dazed_and_C0nfused Posts: 12,772
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Forumite
    T4i said:
    Hi all,

I am really struggling to work out my current PAYE situation due to a couple changes recently. I was given the chance to jump into a company car after my private car developed some major faults. I am a field service engineer so do lots of miles per year.

I went for a Diesel company car as some sites I visit are restricted to diesel engines only - hybrids and electric cars are not permitted unfortunately.