Saving or mortgage?

I'm going to take a tax free lump sum from my Pension pot. £42 k. I'm not very good with figures, so if you have any advice, I'd be really grateful.  Should I put this in my savings account at 5.8% interest, or clear some of my outstanding mortgage of 100,000. My mortgage rate will change in Nov to a tracker,  so it will probably remain around 5% + unless it goes down. Sorry if this is a silly question, but I'm a newbie and not sure what to do for the best. Thanks 😊 

Comments

• eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 29,811
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Forumite
    I'd look at this the other way round and consider whether it's actually worth taking a TFLS from your pension at all, if you don't have a clear reason for doing so, i.e. leaving the money in the pension might be better, depending on the totality of your financial circumstances and objectives?
  • I can't afford to pay my mortgage and am trying to downsize. Been on the market for 6 months and reduced the price. Trying to not get into debt. If my house sells I'll be mortgage free, but no idea how long.  Won't rent out the house. So this seems like a solution. Will use some of the TFLS to cover mortgage payments until house sold. I have over 550,000 equity so will be okay at retirement age.
  • Beddie
    Beddie Posts: 558
    First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    I'd keep enough in savings for emergencies, £10k? Or you might have enough savings already in which case ignore that. Then pay the rest off the mortgage if it's going to be 5%+

On a side note, all houses will sell at the right price, so your asking price is too high. Speak to your agent and get it sold before house prices drop further.
  • xylophone
    xylophone Posts: 43,813
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Forumite
    What is the current mortgage rate?

Are you  (or are you likely to be) paying tax on your savings interest?