Energy bills unaffordable - ovo

Options
Hi, newbie here but in desperate help. 

My boyfriend lives in a one bedroom terraced very small place. His meter says he is using 20 kw of electricity every day but he isn’t even there. He is at work. When he comes home he sits in candle light, he uses a fire for heating. He has one quick shower a day, puts the oven on only to cook.

It’s heartbreaking as ovo don’t care. They say that he owes over £2500 in electricity for the last 3 months. 

They have said that if he wants the meter checked he will have to pay for someone to come out and look at it.

It’s really effecting his
mental health and I’m really worried about him. 

Any help would be amazing 
thanks for reading 

Comments

• Brie
    Brie Posts: 10,443 Forumite
    First Post Photogenic Name Dropper First Anniversary
    Options
    Does the meter readings he can take agree with what OVO claim he is using?  And I'm assuming from what you say there's no gas.  And that he moved in there 3 months back?  Or why is it that suddenly his use appears to have increased?
    "Never retract, never explain, never apologise; get things done and let them howl.”
  • Mstty
    Mstty Posts: 4,209 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Photogenic Name Dropper
    edited 19 January 2023 at 9:33PM
    Options
    20kwh a day for three months would cost approx £650 at 34p kWh plus standing charge not £2500

What you need is the start reading from when he moved in and the reading today or tomorrow and come back to the forum with that information.
  • GingerTim
    GingerTim Posts: 2,052 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    Options
    Does he have an immersion heater or suchlike stuck on all the time that he doesn't know about?
  • Gerry1
    Gerry1 Posts: 9,938 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    edited 19 January 2023 at 9:19PM
    Options