Drowning in debt now and it's only going to get worse.

in Debt-free wannabe
24 replies 3.5K views
jlb31jlb31 Forumite
7 Posts
Sixth Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
Forumite
I hope I am in the right place as this is the first time I have done this. I am feeling completely out of my depth here with dealing with my money situation.

I currently owe roughly £30,000 to various companies and family members. I work as a teaching assistant earning around £17,000 and receive tax credit, berevement benefit and child benefit. However since my twins are due to leave college this June I will lose all my benefits. So although I am keeping up with at least the minimum payments once the benefits end I will not be able to and this is really worrying me.

My daughter regularly has to lend me money and I am currently overdrawn by £300 until my benefit goes in on Monday but then I then I am already short for next month.

I am currently looking to take up a second job to help boost my income.

My son is looking to move 3 hours away to continue his career which would mean him moving into a shared house. Although he is looking at an appreticeship I still fear that I may have to help him at the beginning. And it's not just that but I would also need to find money for petrol and accomodation when I visit him.

I find myself in tears more and more these days and unable to sleep. I woke this morning at 2.30 after just 3 hours sleep. My first thought was 'oh my god I don't have a savings for christmas' I used to save with a christmas savings company but decided against it this year as the shops you could spend the vouchers in became less and less. I was putting the money I would have used into my saving but had to use it when I was short for bills.

Sorry to ramble. Sometimes writing things down helps me.

Replies

• MovingForwardsMovingForwards Forumite
    16.1K Posts
    10,000 Posts Fourth Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    Forumite
    Complete a statement of affairs