My Plan Of Action Shared.......

HotDog2020
HotDog2020 Posts: 537 Forumite
First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
Hi All,

I have decided to get a plan of action together, I own a flat, I have a £50,000 mortgage 30 years, I start a new job soon earning 22500, take home 1500. There is a chance I will get a lump sum of money in the future from a relative (not inheritence!!), to pay off the mortgage. I would really like a house, but on my wages, which could increase in the future as I am still learning, however for the time being, the house is not in the equation, and I am not sure I want it to be. It might be better as a single 30 something expecting to stay single period it might be better to use the money for doing the flat up and holidays and cars and clothes and general going out money,  house ( I wouldn't like to say nice house as I cannot afford a 'Nice' house is it worth the tight and restricting budget set for life? Or flat life for life, but living comfortably able to re-do the bathroom/ kitchen when needed would be nice to be able to do.

I want to explore above question supposing I had my mortgage paid off, I would be looking at property of £116,000 owned outright, supposing I purchased one of those 1 bed houses 40sq mt (Flat 60sqm) with a garden and parking that would cost 200,000 I would need to borrow £84,000 on the same interest I would need to pay back £375 PM, bills could be different but there will not be service charge or ground rent as it will be free hold so I would guess the bills will be similar to what I pay now, on my money and a bigger mortgage - no thanks.