Universal credit advice please

Hello,
So I am a 49yr old mum of an 9yr old. I need to be around for him before and after school and ofcourse through the many holidays and sick days that come with having a school aged child.
I am going to need to apply for universal credit for us and am the main carer. I have been looking for term time positions or flexible working hours. I have zero care support (no-one lives near me) .... so I have been thinking of setting up a small craft business from home .... until he is older. I can earn only a meager earning from this but at least it fits around my parenting. 

How many hours must I work as a parent to an 9yr old school aged child to get Universal credit? How much must I earn working self employed in profit to make this work for me ?
I am not looking for a free ride... just something that works for my family for now until I can do more. Any advice on the self employed / small business route on the UC would be so so appreciated, thank you  x

(Also has anyone managed to work for avon and get universal credit ... I know you can earn almost nothing on avon. Its really just a question of juggling time and family commitments while keeping head above water for me at this point.)

Replies

• KatrinaWavesKatrinaWaves Forumite
    2.9K Posts
    1,000 Posts Second Anniversary Name Dropper
    Forumite
    There are no hour requirements on UC. You seem to be mixing that up with the old
    working tax credits which did require people
    to work.

Im not an expert on self employment and UC but I believe after a year you will be expected to be making full time NMW from your business. You can’t just run a hobby business and not make any money and still get UC. At this point they will make you look for paid employment which will make you money. 
    The year MAY get extended due to corona but, who knows. It’s not a long term plan though by any means.

I doubt Avon will be counted in the self