Forum Home» Energy

Gas and electric bills excessively high

New Post Advanced Search

Gas and electric bills excessively high

11 replies 390 views
zeeshytzeeshyt Forumite
3 posts
Fifth Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
hi there just needed some help, iv recently had a proper look into my gas and electric bills, and it seems as though I've been using over the odds for many years. My house is a 5 bedroom house and have recently got a new boiler installed. 
My Gas usage is 66,000 kwh per year and I have been told by many that this is way too high, almost 4 times higher than the average household, i just needed ideas as to how I can check if my usage is being calculated correctly/incorrectly. 
Thanks in advance 

Replies

• edited 4 July at 7:36AM
    frugalmacdugalfrugalmacdugal Forumite
    7.4K posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭
    edited 4 July at 7:36AM
    Hi,
    you need to read your meter regularly, at the very least once a month, and provide readings to your supplier, especially check reading anytime you get an estimated bill/statement.
    Check your gas meter to see if it is cubic metre M³ or cubic feet ft³, and check to see if you are being charged accordingly.

Y'all take care now.
    happy0207.gif

• Robin9Robin9 Forumite
    6.7K posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    Has your meter been changed in recent years - its not unknown for records not to have been updated. ?  Is the meter serial number the same as on your bill. ?
    Read your meter today - if its a modern meter watch out for the decimal point - a photo would be good - compare the reading with your bill.
    Never pay on an estimated bill
  • brewerdavebrewerdave Forumite
    6.3K posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    I don't think I could use 66000 kwh of gas even if I left my boiler on 24/7 all Winter !!. Sounds to me like a m3/100s cu ft confusion on meter reads. Either that ,or you have a large hole in the roof and no insulation.