NI Hire Car debt recovery letters sent to wrong address

I have been passed a debt recovery letter from a neighbour for a parking fine in a hire car used in NI. It is at £170 and was sent to the wrong address. It's the first I've heard about it as a presume all the previous letters were sent to the wrong address too.How should I proceed? Its smart parking Ltd.

Replies

• UmkomaasUmkomaas Forumite
    34.6K Posts
    Eighth Anniversary 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Are you based in NI?
    Please note, we are not a legal advice forum. I personally don't get involved in critiquing court case Defences/Witness Statements, so unable to help on that front. Please don't ask. .
    I provide only my personal opinion, it is not a legal opinion, it is simply a personal one. I am not a lawyer.
    Give a man a fish, and you feed him for a day; show him how to catch fish, and you feed him for a lifetime.
  • edited 30 November 2019 at 4:04PM
    UmkomaasUmkomaas Forumite
    34.6K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 30 November 2019 at 4:04PM
    As long as the hire company have been taken out of the equation and have passed liability to the hirer, you can ignore anything from debt collectors.

Just a light-touch caveat, come back if Smart instigate court proceedings, but that will be so complicated for them and expensive - NI hire car, PCN in NI, hirer in Scotland, they won't know which way they'll be facing at the same time as trying to extricate their head from their posterior.

Ride out the debt collector rubbish, it will stop sooner or later.

Have the hire company charged your credit card an admin fee for dealing with the PCN?

By the way - you have not been 'fined'. You've received nothing more than a speculative invoice.
    Please note, we are not a legal advice forum. I personally don't get involved in critiquing court case Defences/Witness Statements, so unable to help on that front. Please don't ask. .