Advice: PCN for paying parking fee late in the day

Hi, I am being chased now by debt collector letters asking for £160 for an unpaid PCN I was disputing. I have been parking in a car park at the train station since 2013. There is a 24 hour pay and display requirement but there is no hourly rate, only a daily rate of £7.70 which does not get cheaper if you park later in the day (as happens in the adjacent car park). They have payment available online as well as in cash at the machine (the operator is Euro Car Parks). I have used this for about 3 years and got into the habit of parking and then jumping on the train and paying online.

In June this year, they started to issue PCNs if there was no parking paid when a warden came to check. I queried one PCN by providing my payment receipt - at the daily rate and which was due to expire at 4am as usual thus covering the full day - and they cancelled the PCN.

In this case, I paid later in the day and I do have a receipt for the £7.70 daily amount for parking. However, they did not cancel this one and say that a valid permit is required at all times and have now escalated it to debt collection, demanding £160. Can they make me pay that much? It seems totally disproportionate and they didn't make a loss in any case as I did pay the full parking amount as I always do and have a receipt to prove it. I am curious that since there is a set daily charge, if they can really enforce payment from moment of parking as a condition and claim they made a loss by me paying the full amount possible a few hours after I parked? I always pay, I have 6 years of full payment history and I feel this is unfair. Thank you.

Replies

• edited 29 November 2019 at 1:05PM
    FruitcakeFruitcake Forumite
    52.5K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 29 November 2019 at 1:05PM
    Debt collectors have no powers and can be ignored. Post 4 of the NEWBIES tells you why it is safe to do so.