Business Phone Line - Advice Needed!

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Small Biz & Charities' MoneySaving
4 replies 969 views
g4_joshg4_josh Forumite
6 Posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Small Biz & Charities' MoneySaving
I am a sole trader, running a small business from home. I currently have a BT business line which is working out very expensive. Does anyone know if it is possible to convert this line to a home phone line and then route all my calls through call18866?

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Replies

• not sure on policy for converting from business line to phone. But, I set up a second line for my business by using BT Twintalk.
    http://www.beststuff.co.uk/bt_twin_talk.htm

Cost about £25 and is about £1.95 a month or something. You get a second number and can hook up another phone. Its very easy to set up and use and I've found it really useful - much cheaper than actually having a second line installed. And I can use 18866 or Voip or anything else I want to.
    Only slight drawback is if one phone is in use - u cant make calls on the other.
  • pricefighterpricefighter Forumite
    2.8K Posts
    I assume you need to keep your number.Tell BT you want to change it to a home phone and save on rental if BT will do it.Or leave it as it is for a while.Either way you can register it for 18866.Quite a few businesses already use the service.
    PF.
  • wealthsaverwealthsaver Forumite
    167 Posts
    g4_josh wrote:
    I am a sole trader, running a small business from home. I currently have a BT business line which is working out very expensive. Does anyone know if it is possible to convert this line to a home phone line and then route all my calls through call18866?

Any advice would be much appreciated!