Registered a Limited Company - too hasty?

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Small Biz & Charities' MoneySaving
1 reply 777 views
timbstoketimbstoke Forumite
985 Posts
Part of the Furniture 500 Posts
✭✭✭
I've been operating a small website for a couple of years now, strictly on a hobbyist basis - no advertising, no income. Currently, the domain and all other costs have just been run exactly as a hobby domain - i.e. bought and paid for from my own cash, with no accounts, tracking or anything else. It's now starting to gather traction and I've had some good suggestions for ways to add a couple of revenue streams, so I figured I should start separating it's costs from my own spending even though I'm probably still a year or so from making any more than the occasional beer from it.

Yesterday, on a whim, I registered a limited company through one of those "We do everything for a tenner" sites that make everything look so simple - and true to their word, that part was completely painless. But now I've done a little reading and I'm wondering if I'm going the right way about this. I wonder if some of the more experienced guys here can offer a bit of advice?
  • Do I need a business bank account? I've seen conflicting answers on this - some say a limited company is a separate entity and must have its own account, others say it's fine to use my own account as long as I record all business transactions.
  • Do I need an accountant? I'm going to count as a micro-entity for the foreseeable life of the business - even if it's a roaring success, a 6 figure turnover would be very optimistic for at least the next 5 years, and I'm looking at sustaining a year or two of loss first.
  • Is it even worth keeping a limited company, or should I just make it dormant? I set it up to try and separate business activities fairly early on, but I'm not sure it's the best way to go about it.