🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Saving account for child - don't wish it to convert (sorry, new to all this)

Options
I have a romantic idea to sort of secretly save money for my two currently ver little children. I don't want the rest of the family to know, particularly. I'd quite like to surprise them when they are older and want to (for example) buy an instrument or go on a school trip we couldn't ordinarily afford.

Anyway I'm new to saving. Growing up, I only had a bank account, no ISAs etc.

So my questions. I've got two, really.

1) So when I'm browsing and looking at the "young saver" accounts - I'm surprised to see that they all seem to convert to a much lower rate of interest after a year. What's all that about??

2) If I want to keep the paperwork arriving on the mat to a minimum, and to be able to pay in in cash, what's my best option?

many thanks

Comments

• LHW99
    LHW99 Posts: 4,309 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    You could try children's bonds frm NS&I. You buy them in multiples of £25 and the interest is fixed for 5 years, and you can then roll them over until the child is 18 (or not). If you buy them at intervals, they mature similarly.
  • genieuk
    genieuk Posts: 341 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker Mortgage-free Glee!
    Options
    We started off years ago with Nationwide and were drip feeding accounts.
    Now we have been with Halifax for nearly 10yrs.
    There Junior ISA is 3% not sure if they still offer a linked ISA with a bonus.%