S&S ISA - Good Plan and Platform in my Situation?

Options
oysteroyster
oysteroyster Posts: 54 Forumite
First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
edited 8 September 2016 at 12:58PM in Savings & investments
Hi all,

Until now I've kept all my savings in various interest-earning current accounts and regular savings accounts (bar a brief stint with a cash ISA), but now I've bought a house I believe it's time to look at more long-term investment options. I'm approaching 30 years old, self-employed, in the higher tax band, with about £50k in the bank. Besides promising myself I'll start a personal pension this year (most likely NEST?) for the tax relief that'll bring about, I'm also looking into venturing into the world of stocks and shares.

I'm very new to S&S and currently doing as much reading on the subject as I can. Fortunately my father-in-law is acting as a bit of a mentor but his situation is very different to my own and I always like to run my thoughts by my beloved MSE and its community.

My thoughts at this stage are to open a S&S ISA, pump in the full £15k annual allowance and then drip feed the bulk into a tracker fund (thoughts on Vanguard Lifestrategy 80% in my situation, anyone), then have a go at investing in five or six individual company shares, diversifying over several different industries. Does this sound like a potentially sensible way to go?