Clearing the Loans and Buying a House

I've been a long time browser on here but rarely post. I've decided to start this diary in the aim to start saving for my first house whilst clearing 2 fairly substantial loans

I work full time in a well paid but stressful job meaning I like my luxuries. I know I spend far too much on eating out and food and I am hoping this diary will make me think a bit more about my purchases. I currently live in a shared flat with one other person

My first loan (natwest) dates from my student years when my dad who was supporting me lost his job. At the time it was great because I did have to pay it back until I graduated but now I'm stuck with a high interest rate and no overpayments for a long time!

My more recent loan was to buy a new car. Maybe I should have gone for a cheaper option but after breaking down twice in one week I wanted something reliable. I commute 20miles to and from work and from next year will need a car for work so reliability and low costs over the next 3 years are important to me

I don't scrimp for every penny but I would like to buy a house in the next 2-3 years so have some serious loan-busting and saving to do in that time. I hope it's alright to start my diary here for those purposes

Thanks for reading

Replies

• edited 22 August 2016 at 2:57PM
    PayOffTheLoansPayOffTheLoans Forumite
    20 Posts
    edited 22 August 2016 at 2:57PM
    Statement of Affairs and Personal Balance Sheet

Household Information

Number of adults in household........... 1
    Number of children in household.........
    Number of cars owned.................... 1

Monthly Income Details

Monthly income after tax................ 2400
    Partners monthly income after tax....... 0
    Benefits................................ 0
    Other income............................ 0
    Total monthly income.................... 2400

Monthly Expense Details

Mortgage................................ 0