Invest child allowance for daughter

Options
Hello all,
I'm a total newbie when it comes to investments but any suggestions on the following would be most appreciated.

I would like to save my daughter's child allowance payments for when she is 18. I have them in a savings account now but surely there must be better places to put it? She's only 1 so this will be over the next 17 years.

Thanks for any suggestions.
Allen

Comments

• Keep_pedalling
    Keep_pedalling Posts: 16,750 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    Personally for that long time frame I would be looking at opening a S&Ss JISA.

http://www.moneysupermarket.com/savings/junior-isas/
  • edinburgher
    edinburgher Posts: 13,469 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    edited 23 July 2016 at 7:14PM
    Options
    I put family gifts into a cash JISA paying 4% and our contribution (£78/m, very similar to CB amount) into a S&S ISA where the money is invested in the Vanguard LifeStrategy 80% fund. I don't invest the bulk of the money in DD's name because she could turn into a spendthrift and I wouldn't feel comfortable handing over a substantial sum of money unless I know she'll do something vaguely sensible with it :D

It's all very low maintenance and ticks along nicely, she probably has more spare cash than either of her parents!
  • xylophone
    xylophone Posts: 44,584 Forumite
    Options
    Assuming that you are happy for her to access the cash when she is 18. you might open a JISA for her - this can be stocks and shares or cash or a mixture.

https://www.gov.uk/junior-individual-savings-accounts/overview

If you are not happy about her having access to what could be a substantial sum at age 18, then perhaps consider saving within your own ISA, which you would think of as "earmarked" for your child at a time of your choosing.
  • Voyager2002
    Voyager2002 Posts: 15,334 Forumite