Advent-ures in the MSE Forum... Our Advent calendar is live, helping you discover a new corner of the community each day. Visit the homepage and scroll down

Newbie Investing

Zola.Zola. Forumite
2.2K Posts
Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Photogenic Name Dropper
Forumite
I am keen to dip my toes in investing. I am reading an investing book at the moment but it's US focused.... I am still learning some good information that I am sure crosses over.

Can anyone recommend some good books that will help me on my way? Ideally something recent and easy to read. I am aware of sites like monevator etc.

I am 30 years old, home owner, no debt other than the house mortgage.

I am interested in something like Vanguard Life Strategy 60 and 'safeish' ETF's. I am after a long term investment, like 10-15 years. What do you think about that fund?

I would have a few thousand to put in to begin with, and then a few hundred to invest each month. I would like to invest around £250 into ETF funds each month and maybe £50 in much more risky small and medium cap shares for tech startups etc for a little bit of fun.

Can anyone who has been in in a similar position to me please advise on a basic strategy etc? Pitfalls to avoid etc?

Replies

• ColdIronColdIron Forumite
    7.3K Posts
    Tenth Anniversary 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    Forumite
    Tim Hale's Smarter Investing is a good start. He has a preference for passive investing but it appears so do you. Make sure you go for the 3rd edition (2013)
  • jimjamesjimjames Forumite
    16.3K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Photogenic Name Dropper
    Forumite
    Have a look at www.monevator.com for more ideas
    Remember the saying: if it looks too good to be true it almost certainly is.
  • BLB53BLB53 Forumite
    1.6K Posts
    Can anyone recommend some good books that will help me on my way? Ideally something recent and easy to read. I am aware of sites like monevator etc.