Paying off the past

in Debt free diaries
19 replies 1.8K views
I'm on a mission to clear my debts by the end of this year. I graduated from university in June and my years at university were pretty tough finance-wise. I worked by butt off all summer to get into credit and managed to save enough to fulfil my dream of travelling!

I started with three months volunteering in Sri Lanka, followed by two and a half months travelling through South East Asia. It was an incredible experience and I have no regrets, however nearly six months of spending and not earning has put me in a lot of debt. I'm about £600 into my overdraft and I've got just under £1500 on a 0% interest credit card. I can live with all of that, but the worst part is my friend paid for my flight home, so I owe her over £200. I think everyone knows to never borrow money from friends so I want to pay her back ASAP!

I hope to go back to university in September to complete my masters which will be another huge expense. I want to have saved as much as possible to make this a little easier on my bank account.

My plan is to find a job - any job - and to get relevant work experience on the side. I also plan to make as much money as I can on the side, through online sales and sites like swagbucks (every penny counts, right?).

So I plan to use this diary to help me keep on track of my saving habits and hopefully learn some tips from others.

Wish me luck :A
Goals
Credit Card - £500/ £1500
[STRIKE]
Overdraft - £600 / £600
[/STRIKE]
[STRIKE]
Other Debt - £335 / £335
[/STRIKE]

Replies

• Good luck on your journey - always feels good to have the realisation that you need to tackle the problem head on rather than just ignoring it!

You sound very determined which is great - deffo get on with the job search. It will feel fab to be able to put some money towards the debt.