Fund Exchange Rate Risk/Reward

Options
Hi,

Wondered if anyone else had any thoughts on this...

I've been paying into various funds such as VLS mostly for around 10 years now & a large chunk of those holdings are in US stocks. Over that time we've benefited greatly from greater US stock market performance vs UK & also recently a strengthening dollar.

As I'm planning to start drawing on those funds in 5 years time, should I be thinking about re-balancing out of those funds with US exposure & transfer over to solely UK funds. Effectively cash in on the US profit now/soon as I will have to at some point anyway. I have to time the market at some point or is this something that Vanguard build into their funds, some kind of currency re-balancing?

Obviously I could lose out on future gains but if $ hits 1.3-/1.35 for example surely there's a much bigger risk of giving all those profits back in the future...

Cheers

Comments

• grey_gym_sock
    Options
    i would be more inclined to shift gradually towards VLS funds with lower percentages in equities.

overseas shares may be more volatile than UK shares, when you add in the currency fluctuations on top of the volatility of the shares themselves. but not by that much, because equities generally are very volatile anyway.

also, there is a fair chance that when equities generally are falling, ppl are generally becoming more nervous, and so keener to hold a safer currency, which usually means the dollar, and therefore the dollar might well be rising when equity markets are falling. so arguably, dollar exposure added to equities exposure is not a bad idea. however, it may not always work out like that ...