Redundancy threat in NHS lab.

Hi All.

I work in an NHS laboratory, I am a band 7 Team manager and I work alongside another band 7 BMS advanced. We share managerial responsibilty over band 7x band 6 BMS and 1 MLA.

A new lab structure has just been proposed and we are now 3/4 of the way through the consultation.

The proposed structure for my dept has 9x band 6 BMS and 1 band 7.

Clearly one of the band 7's, myself or my colleague will be out of luck.

So far management and HR's position is thus :-

1. We have had no 'at risk' notifications. They say that the unsuccessful applicant for the single band 7 job will have to take a band 6 job on protected pay as they deem it suitable so there is no risk of redundancy. This seems wrong to me surely the fact that they are talking about alternative roles means we are at risk ?

2. They tell us that if we dont apply for the job we will have to take a band 6 with no pay protection.

3. My manager gave me verbal assurances a year ago that this would not happen. He admitted this in a meeting with HR and union representation but said that ' things had changed'
Not holding out too much hope on this one as nothing written down but he did admit it in front of witnesses.

4. A suitable alternative band 7 job was filled only 2 weeks before the consultation document was distributed. They now say that the post had to 'urgently be filled for patient safety'.
It was a point of care lead role which is a new role in this trust, we havent had one in the 25 years ive worked here but now it cant wait a few months.

Myself and my colleague feel used and abused right now, we have worked over the last year to get our lab ISO accreditation, one of the few to achieve this thus far.

Upper management get the credit and we get to squabble for our job and downbanded if we dont get it.

Any advice would be welcomed

Thank you.

Comments

• shed35
    shed35 Posts: 240 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post