Monthly savings - account advice

Hi all,

This is my first time posting, I have browsed this forum in the past and found it really useful. I'm hoping for sime insightful advice.

I have the Lloyds TSB Club Lloyds current account, which pays 4% interest on balances up to between £4000 and £5000. Anymore than £5000 does not earn interest so I ensure that the balance doesn't go below £5000.

I also have a Llooyds Advantage Saver whic is where my monthly savings go, I've just realised the interest rate on this is only 0.55%. I currently have approx £4000 in there. I save approx £500-£700 per month, what should I do not ensure I am maximising the interest on my savings?

Any advice would be welcome.

Thanks

Replies

• xylophonexylophone Forumite
    39K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Open other current accounts?
    TSB Classic plus for £2000.

Nationwide Flex Direct for a year. £2500

Santander 123 - up to £20,000.

Check the terms and conditions of each account.

You will need to cycle money round the system but with internet banking and faster payments this takes minutes.
  • YorkshireBoyYorkshireBoy Forumite
    31.5K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Why aren't you making use of the Club Lloyds Monthly Saver (for £400 of your £500-700 monthly savings)? You must be bombarded with information on it each time you log on. I know I was, and still am despite opening one.
  • edited 31 January 2015 at 2:41PM
    badger09badger09 Forumite
    9.6K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    edited 31 January 2015 at 2:41PM
    Club Lloyds also has a linked monthly saver. Up to £400 per month @ 4%
    31.5K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Irishgal00 wrote: »
    I also have a Llooyds Advantage Saver whic is where my monthly savings go, I've just realised the interest rate on this is only 0.55%.
    Is that some kind of special rate? Because when I look at...

http://www.lloydsbank.com/rates/savings/savings-closed.asp