Advice on buying Chromebook?

in Techie Stuff
37 replies 2.5K views
ChrisJJChrisJJ Forumite
183 Posts
Eighth Anniversary 100 Posts Combo Breaker
I'm considering buying a Chromebook. Not sure yet though, and wondered if anyone on here who has experience of such a device can give me the benefit of their experience?

I'm technologically un-savvy, and don't do much with my (now poorly) pc other than surf the net and watch catch up TV.

Any advice gratefully received!

Thank you.

Replies

• mrochestermrochester Forumite
    1.4K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭
    You'd probably be better off with a cheap Windows laptop. £150 gets you a Windows 8.1 laptop these days.
  • EssexExileEssexExile Forumite
    5.4K Posts
    Seventh Anniversary 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭
    I'm not tech savvy either but our little Samsung Chromebook is great. It's running windows 7 & is getting on a bit now but it's been no trouble.
    Tall, dark & handsome. Well two out of three ain't bad.
  • John_GrayJohn_Gray Forumite
    5.8K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭
    Best to say what you actually want to do, and someone will say if a Chromebook can do it!

My only experience is that printing to networked printers is a bit of a pig.
  • EssexExile wrote: »
    I'm not tech savvy either but our little Samsung Chromebook is great. It's running windows 7 & is getting on a bit now but it's been no trouble.

Surly a Chromebook runs Chrome OS?
  • Don't! (unless you plan to work for Google one day). It's a closed box, you can only run Chrome OS and you have to make do with that. Probably you could run some sort of Linux, but if you have come here to ask, it's probably not for you. (Sorry I don't want to sound arrogant).
  • EssexExileEssexExile Forumite
    5.4K Posts
    Seventh Anniversary 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭
    Inner_Zone wrote: »