eBay Shipping Question

Options
Hi,

When selling on eBay I usually offer CollectPlus as the primary method which everyone uses as its cheap, quick and easy however last night when I sold an item the buyer opted for the RM Special Delivery option.

I've never used eBay for RM postage labels before but assumed it should be straight forward enough. I put in a generous weight and was happy with the price - purchased and printed the label.

I noticed the label didn't have a tracking number on it, I assumed that I'd get this when I took it to the Post Office this morning - when I did this they said that as it's already paid they can't issue me a tracking number and would simply provide me a Certificate of Posting which they have.

I came back and called eBay, unfortunately not very helpful and terrible line quality simply told me to call Royal Mail. And no surprise, Royal Mail aren't contactable at the weekend.

Is it common practice when you print a postage label via eBay that you don't get a tracking number? The email confirmation I received simply says Tracking Number : N/A. (See below)

aeGsFMy.png

Any thoughts?

Regards,
Chib.

Comments

• soolin
    soolin Posts: 72,204 Ambassador
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    edited 28 June 2014 at 9:49AM
    Options
    No, that is wrong. When I take special or signed for to the PO or mail centre that i printed on eBay I then have to either take my ore filled silver or orange slip with me (I have a stock) or get one filled out while I am there.

It needs the tracking details- and in particular you need the tracking to win any PayPal claim raised against you.