Making a minimum payment only

Options
Hello all,

I am sorry if this is a stupid question but I am not good with credit ratings and credit cards and things. I have a Vanquis credit card. I have had it for 2 months now. The first month I paid the balance off in full. This month I have had a lot to pay out for and I owe £55 on it. The minimum payment was £5 which I have paid. I am wondering is it going to look bad if I only make the minimum payment this month and then clear it next?

Thank you in advance,
Andrew

Comments

• StuC75
    StuC75 Posts: 2,065 Forumite
    Options
    Some credit cards do flag if only the minimum payment has been made.. What looks Good & Bad is open to personal views.. as long as you are meeting the contractual obligations then it cannot be a bad thing..

One alternative is to pay 1p over the minimum amount, that way the minimum payment flag wouldn't show since you technically paid over the minimum, but under the balance..

What you do need to consider though is that you would pay interest on that balance - plus any further purchases this month WOULD NOT be interest free since it only applies after consecutive months of paying the balance in full..
  • opinions4u
    opinions4u Posts: 19,411 Forumite
    Options
    Send them an extra £1.

Minor impact in the great scheme of things, but beneficial nonetheless.
  • HappyMJ
    HappyMJ Posts: 21,115 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Hello all,

I am sorry if this is a stupid question but I am not good with credit ratings and credit cards and things. I have a Vanquis credit card. I have had it for 2 months now. The first month I paid the balance off in full. This month I have had a lot to pay out for and I owe £55 on it. The minimum payment was £5 which I have paid. I am wondering is it going to look bad if I only make the minimum payment this month and then clear it next?

Thank you in advance,
    Andrew