Reduce Presription Costs

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Health & Beauty MoneySaving
4 replies 553 views
[Deleted User][Deleted User]
0 Posts
Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
✭✭✭✭
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Health & Beauty MoneySaving
If you buy prescription prepayment certificates you can get 3 months for £29.10, or 12 months for £104, so it's cheaper to buy 12 one month PPC.

Or is it? If your doctor is giving you your prescriptions monthly you can fit four consecutive prescriptions onto one 3 month PPC, so you can cover a whole year for £87.30 instead of £104.

(Perhaps everyone already knew, but I'm new to regular prescriptions.)

Replies

• donnac2558donnac2558 Forumite
    3.5K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    Trouble is most doctors will not do that. You get your 28 days(in most cases) monthly only. In fact some doctors will not renew a prescription twice in a one month period. Its to do with government and how much they get paid for each patient.

Or move to Scotland,Wales or Northern Ireland and get free prescriptions.:beer:
  • donnac2558 wrote: »
    Trouble is most doctors will not do that. You get your 28 days(in most cases) monthly only. In fact some doctors will not renew a prescription twice in a one month period. Its to do with government and how much they get paid for each patient.

Or move to Scotland,Wales or Northern Ireland and get free prescriptions.:beer:

I wouldn't be too cocky about that lol. Stormont has hinted that we Northern Irelanders may see a resumption of prescription charges in the not to distant future.

There are some circumstances in England where they are free too - aren't there? All down to what the condition is and the regularity of the prescription - I think?
  • donnac2558donnac2558 Forumite
    3.5K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    They have been discussing it since last year. It would only be 50p or £1 per item or prescription according to the minister. He is still thinking about it, nearly a year later.