Trouble getting accepted for credit cards due to low income

Options
I have always been really good with money despite having a low income. I had an egg credit card (now barclays) which I have managed to do a fair bit of damage to in the last month. I was thinking about trying to do a balance transfer to pay it off over the next couple of months without getting majorly stuck for interest but every time I do the pre-check it says I have less than a 40% chance for ANY credit card - let alone the better rated ones. I have had previous loans and credit cards (all paid off now) and have never missed a payment. My current credit card I have been paying off in full every month. In the last couple of years I have applied and been turned down for about 5 credit cards but I was a student at the time so my income was even lower. I haven't applied for any recently but purchased car insurance about 2 months ago which they ran credit checks for (I have no idea why - I paid in full. This seems to be a new thing and utterly pointless if you ask me). I also moved house Nov last year. My income is £13000 a year. Do I have any chance of getting a balance transfer on a decent rate? Does the fact I should have built up a good credit rating by always paying for stuff on time count for nothing? Please help.

Comments

• InsideInsurance
    Options
    Credit Rating is used by a couple of insurers now as a factor that impacts the price of your policy (not just credit) on the basis that if you are in financial difficulty then there is a higher chance you will submit a fraudulent claim (eg why sell your 3 year old laptop for £100 when you can drop it and get £500 from your insurers)