New Post Advanced Search

JSA Advice.....

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Old Threads
4 replies 1K views
gav23welshgav23welsh Forumite
14 posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Old Threads
Hi Guys, I was made redundant just over 6 months ago. And the pay out I received was used to pay off various debts. I've been claiming JSA National Insurance based for the last 6 months, and I've now just applied for JSA income based. The bit where I'm in an awkward position was the debts I had to pay off with my redundancy was a mixture of gambling debts and loans sharks, I also had to pay a friend back 4k that he owed me. I've explained to JSA where I've paid the money out, but I cant give them any receipts etc...because as you can imagine door to door loan sharks dont work like that it's either pay up or els. I've provided JSA with 6 months of bank statements lisiting all my transactions, if anyone could offer some advice I'd be greatful.

Thanks Gav

Replies

• pmlindyloopmlindyloo Forumite
    12.8K posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Deprivation of capital is a thorny issue and you could google and find out some more information.

The basic principle is if they came to the conclusion that you paid off debts in order to claim benefits then they could treat you as still having the redundancy pay and refuse the income based JSA.

As regards debts the usual information is that if they did not have to be paid back in full but could have been paid back in agreed installments then this may be counted as deprivation of capital. It could be argued that the debts from the loan sharks might full under the category of having to be paid back because of the consequences of not doing so. (extortinate interest rates/threats of being taken to court)

The repayment of the debt to your friend may not be so easy as it could be argued that he/she would have had to accept a repayment plan.