Forum Home» Competitions Time» Compers Chat Corner

People on the comps board introduce themselves

New Post Advanced Search
Important update! We have recently reviewed and updated our Forum Rules and FAQs. Please take the time to familiarise yourself with the latest version.

People on the comps board introduce themselves

edited 30 November -1 at 12:00AM in Compers Chat Corner
1.9K replies 260.9K views
black-saturnblack-saturn
13.9K posts
✭✭✭✭✭
edited 30 November -1 at 12:00AM in Compers Chat Corner
I started to think that we don't know each other at all. We all comp together and congratulate each other on wins but we don't know anything about each other at all. They have a thread like this on the Old Style board so why not on this one?

So I'll start. I'm a female, almost 37 years old with 2 daughters aged 12 and 9. I'm getting married next year to a man I met on the internet and I have been seeing him for 2 and a half years now. He has a daughter who's 17 so soon I'll be a 'wicked' stepmother. I live on the Suffolk coast about 10 minutes walk from the beach. My hobbies are comping, music (The Cure) and travel. I'm an old goth and I'm on a Travel and Tourism correspondence course (nearly finished). I work from home.
2008 Comping Challenge
Won so far - £3010 Needed - £230
Debt free since Oct 2004
«134567190

Replies

  • edited 5 December 2010 at 10:49PM
    kit34kit34 Forumite
    2.9K posts
    Part of the Furniture
    ✭✭✭✭
    edited 5 December 2010 at 10:49PM
    ok ill go , im 40 , i live in essex but was born and bred in bolton oop north , i have 3 kids 19,18 and 16 , i met my thatcher man online too and we fell in lurve hence the move here , i love comping , amateur dramatics and trawling round carboot sales in the summer to buy tat to sell on ebay , never married , never wanted too lol , i have been in lots of local am dram productions oh and i have red hair lol :)

    forgot to say i have 4 beautiful cats as well :)

    eta scrap the above i have 5 beautifull cats and 2 whippets , all the kids have left home and im trying to get myself back into the swing of life after a horrific couple of years !!
    hopefully comping will keep me on my toes !
    my name is Kit and im addicted to competitions , the what if is my driving force :D !!



  • gingerchickgingerchick Forumite
    3.8K posts
    Ooh nice idea Black Saturn.:beer:

    I'm female, 38 years old, two boys, aged 7 and 5 (well 6 on Saturday).
    Hubby of nearly 8 years (anniversary in April:eek: ) is a stay at home dad,
    I recently completed my return to practise course, and now work as a general nurse in a dialysis unit.

    I've lived in Blackpool, Sheffield, Fort Lauderdale Florida (met hubby there), and now live on the North Norfolk coast, where my hubby is originally from.

    Hehe, edit to say, I have red hair as well, Kit!:T


  • aggieaggie Forumite
    7.3K posts
    Part of the Furniture
    ✭✭✭✭
    Hi, I'm 40 something, live in Hampshire and want to work with children and have world peace. Oops, no, wrong speech! Three children (23, 21,13) one at home, one sometimes at home and one living in Norway. Always said I'd have no pets so how come now I've got rabbits, guinea pigs, finches, chickens and now worms. Something went wrong. (Ooh yes, and hubby of 26 years. I was obviously a child bride.)

    I wish everyone luck with their comping.
    MASSIVE THANKS TO ALL POSTERS!:happyhear
  • StrepsyStrepsy Forumite
    5.7K posts
    This is a nice idea Black-Saturn, thanks. And I'm the youngest so far, so it can't be bad!

    I'm Steph, I'm 31 and have 3 girls aged 12, 11 and 7. Married to hubby who I met on the park over half my life ago. We live in Cheshire and I love it here although I don't really know anyone. We're originally from Davyhulme near the Trafford Centre but most friends moved away and then we did too. Hubby is a music lecturer and I'm housewife-!!!-layabout. Hobbies are comping, reading, gardening and movies, world cinema in particular. I aim to be more self-sufficient and I'm desperate to have hens. Will have to make do with my two cats Malachi and Paro for now.

    Edit: I now have hens! 3 lovely girls, Hatti, Bobbins and Pepsi.
    I've been lucky, I'll be lucky again. ~ Bette Davis
  • hjb123hjb123 Forumite
    32K posts
    Well Im a 26 year old female living in the north west in lancashire near Morecambe/Lancaster

    I graduated from UCLAN in 2002 with a degree in Business and French. I worked for a high street retailer for over 3 years before becoming ill with ME/CFS and have been unable to work since - hence the amount of time I often spend on MSE and the computer in general!

    I still live at home with my parents and brother. I am attempting (strong emphasis on attempting!) to do a distance learning course in accounting but am finding it slow as my illness prevents me doing some stuff

    Good Luck with the comping
    Weight Loss - 102lb
  • Important update! We have recently reviewed and updated our Forum Rules and FAQs. Please take the time to familiarise yourself with the latest version.
  • BatgirlBatgirl Forumite
    2K posts
    Part of the Furniture Combo Breaker Debt-free and Proud!
    ✭✭✭✭
    Great idea. I am 27 live in the Lake district, have two boys 3 and 6 married nearly 9 years. Like comping, exercising, reading and MSE recently gone back to work for 2 days a week term time only which is fantastic.

    Can't write any more though because off to watch my favourite telly, Lost and 24!

    Ps Started comping last Jan.
    May 2015 £10 a day currently £208
  • AnnieHAnnieH Forumite
    8.1K posts
    Oooh I like this thread!! Great idea b-s

    I'm 32 (33 in May:eek:) mum of 3: 2 girls aged 8 and 6 from previous partner (psycho from hell LOL), and lil man of 2 with my hubby who I met online. We actually met and married within 10 months and it's our 5th anniversary in April so we didn't do too bad :)

    I'm from Nottingham originally, but moved to Hampshire 4 and a half years ago. I work as a school dinner lady, and when I'm not at work I like comping, and have just applied to do the Great South Run in October with my local radio atation - I'll hear this week sometime if I've been chosen. Don't really know what I've let myself in for as I do NO exercise at the moment:eek:
  • hbk2006hbk2006 Forumite
    579 posts
    What a nice idea!

    Im 22yrs old and live up in Edinburgh. I have a 5 year old son and work full time as a family support worker!

    In my spare time, I like comping (obviously) reading, horror films and my biggest passion - wrestling!
    :D....It's nice to be nice.....:D
  • debsy42debsy42 Forumite
    1.7K posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭
    Good idea there Black Saturn

    I'm 39 and living either in London or Manchester depending on my situation lol I was made redundant in December however I managed to get myself a job down south so just in the middle of sorting my life out. Like my fellow comp folk I met my OH online (he's only 25 :eek: ) and we have been together for 18 months. I still haven't won anything from entering comps online but one day I'll get that holiday/car/Jethro Tull cd :D:D
    ITV Winners Club #87 :eek:
  • GlitteratiGlitterati Forumite
    1.1K posts
    Great idea!

    I'm Natalie and I'm from Warwickshire and almost 24. I'm in my final year of a Fine Art degree, only a few months left and I can't wait to actually get a job and start getting some money! I have been with my lovely boyfriend Mikey for 4 years, he is away at uni in Bath so I am looking forward to him coming back home and actually getting to see him all the time! I love art, especially illustration, crafts, making jewelery, cute stuff, traveling and music (rock/metal/indie mostly)

Sign In or Register to comment.

Quick links

Essential Money | Who & Where are you? | Work & Benefits | Household and travel | Shopping & Freebies | About MSE | The MoneySavers Arms | Covid-19 & Coronavirus Support