Advent-ures in the MSE Forum... Our Advent calendar is live, helping you discover a new corner of the community each day. Visit the homepage and scroll down

Cheap car for under £500 in Belfast?

in N. Ireland
7 replies 8.6K views
Does anyone know of anywhere I can get a cheap decent car with a bit of tax and mot for around £500.I am a student nurse almost qualified and my car which I desperately need has died.
Have tried ebay, autotrader, ads for free and buy and sell and driven to loads of garages and seen nothing but cr**p. I know my budget is really low but I really only need something for not even a year and hopefully will be able to afford something a bit better.
Can anyone help at all? Anything considered but must have tax and mot.:confused:
Coming soon............
Brand new baby first showing in November!
Brand new baby boy (Matthew) born 3 weeks early weighing a diddly 5lb 4 oz!!

Replies

• ArtofdookieArtofdookie Forumite
    4.6K Posts
    If it were me id buy from auction, but you need someone with a bit of know how to go with you

http://www.carryduffauctions.co.uk/list.asp
    http://www.wilsonsauctions.com/cars_vans.asp
    Well I Love Tv And I Love T. Rex, I Can See Through Your Skirt I've Got X-Ray Spex
  • pookie
    you got a pm
    THESE ARE THE GOOD OLD DAYS ……
    ..…JUST WAIT AND SEE
  • motorguymotorguy Forumite
    22.3K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper
    Forumite
    As an ex car dealer who has sold around 300 cars of less than £1000 in value, heres my tuppence worth...

Auctions can be a source of cheap cars, but lots of them are cheap for a reason.. older cars particularly end up there when their owners know they need lots of money spent and cant get rid of them elsewhere.

No matter where you buy the car, try to take someone knowledgable about cars with you - ideally a mechanic.