Finally admitting something needs to be done!!

in Debt free diaries
12 replies 1K views
OK so for so long I have professed to be good with money, quoting Money Saving Expert to other people on numerous ways of helping them to save money while all the time not admitting how bad I was myself.

I have debt which started while at University where I'd just buy things because I though I could afford it. I had quite a bit of disposable income as my Student Loan covered my rent and so the money from my part time job was for spending. I started using credit cards and was pretty good to begin with, paying everything off straight away, making use of my interest free overdraft and generally having a good time. Thing is, when I graduated things didn't change. Although I got a decent job paying ok money, wasn't paying too much rent etc I managed to think maintaining my student lifestyle was plausible. 5 years on I've finally realised its not.

I have an overdraft and 2 credit cards which I wish to pay off as soon as possible. I also have a loan but am going to be bad and ignore that for now.

So the overdraft is currently -£873.24, Credit Card 1 is -£2159.67
and Credit Card 2 is -£1533.03 that's a total of £4565.94 which frankly makes me feel queasy when I think of all the things I've spent it on, namely nothing much of any value at all.

So I hope updating things on here will keep me in check. No one really knows about how much debt I'm in although I did let slip to my other half about how much (roughly, think I may have rounded it to 3K :eek:) was on my credit cards while he was discussing his desire to pay his off the other day. He didn't react too badly so maybe I'll tell him the full extent at some point.