We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Pond help requested.

Options
juliebunny
juliebunny Posts: 1,705 Forumite
Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
Hello, I need to re-line my pond this weekend urgently before the hosepipe ban comes into effect, but I'm not sure what to do with the goldfish when I do it - would they be ok in a bucket? I have gold fish and froggies (or they may be toadies) who are probably near to spawning so want to get the job done in a couple of hours and with minimal upset to them.

I've already lost 2 fish last week as I hadn't noticed how low the level had got :( I'm not sure if there is a leak or it's just evaporating but the liner is very old. It's going to be a rushed job as I've never done it before so will just lay the new liner over the old one. I plan to get a proper job done at some point.
Less stuff, more life, love, laughter and cats!
Even if I'm on the shopping threads, it doesn't mean I'm buying! Sometimes it's good to just look and then hit the CLOSE button!

Comments

• wellused
    wellused Posts: 1,678 Forumite
    Options
    Get a container as big as you can place it in a shady area and fill it to within 6 inches of the top to prevent the fish jumping out, include as much of the original pond water as you can and leave it for a couple of days or overnight at least, as long as there aren't too many fish and as long as they aren't too big they should be OK for a few hour. When you fill the repaired pond again add water from the old pond so keep as much of this as you can, if you can leave the new pond to stabilize and for the water temperature to reach ambient levels the fish won't be shocked when you move them from the container back into the pond.
  • dragon47
    dragon47 Posts: 90 Forumite