How do I make a payment from a Halifax cash ISA?

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in ISAs & Tax-free Savings
5 replies 931 views
edinburgheredinburgher Forumite
12.3K Posts
Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper
✭✭✭✭✭
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in ISAs & Tax-free Savings
I have a Halifax cash ISA that I use for 'fun' saving. I'd like to transfer £500 out of it to purchase some shares, but can't see an option to set up a payment on online banking.

Do I have to call them to do this, or would I be better off transferring the money to my linked Halifax current account and sending the transfer from there? There seems to be an option in the current account menu to do this, but it does add an extra step.

Before anyone helpful suggests, I'll be buying the shares outside of an ISA, so not looking to transfer the cash ISA over.

I'm new to Halifax, so haven't really looked at online banking before now (other than to check my balance).

Replies

• opinions4uopinions4u
    19.4K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    To withdraw from the account you need to either arrange it by telephone or transfer the funds via another Halifax account.

I'd suggest setting up a Web Saver Reward (without card). It will take you about 60 seconds. You can then BACS the funds on to an account operated elsewhere. Leave £1 in to carry on getting the 2.8% interest rate.

Alternatively, open a Reward Current Account. That gives you the potential of Faster Payments and £5 a month if you have £1,000 a month going through the account.
  • edinburgheredinburgher Forumite
    12.3K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Alternatively, open a Reward Current Account. That gives you the potential of Faster Payments and £5 a month if you have £1,000 a month going through the account.