Self Select ISA - best buy for one-off trade?

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in ISAs & Tax-free Savings
2 replies 1.4K views
Rate_TartRate_Tart Forumite
3 Posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in ISAs & Tax-free Savings
Hi,

I'm a complete newby to stocks & shares ISAs, purely needing one to make a one off purchase (£4000) of shares in 1 company (appreciate this is high risk but I'm purely doing it as it makes more sense than leaving this money in their employee sharesave scheme and paying more for the shares than what they are worth now).

I've identified that I need a self-select ISA for this purpose but I'm struggling to find guidance on the best buys as there seems to be numerous fees and charges i.e. admin fee, setup costs, trading fee, commission, annual fee, account management fee.

Can anyone please enlighten me as to what the different types of fee are & whether I would be subject to any/all of them in this instance?

Also, how does the process work - do I also have to open a sharedealing account in order to purchase the shares in the first place & then transfer them into the ISA? Or do I have to fund the ISA with cash & then use it to buy the shares?

Many thanks

Replies

• AegisAegis Forumite
    5.5K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    From what I've seen, somewhere like x-o.co.uk will have the lowest dealing fees for a one-off transaction if you don't need any advanced features like charting, stop loss orders, etc. You literally pay the dealing fee as you make the transaction and they look after your shares for you until you want to sell.

I've no idea if they're any good as a provider in terms of interface or customer service, but they seem pretty good on price for shares.