We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Please help - pots & total beginner!

Options
I have a number of plant pots around the garden which my MIL used to plant up for me. Every year I had a gorgeous assortment of colourful plants (no idea what!). (I still get dafodils in the spring)

For the last couple of years these pots haven't been touched and I know it's something that I need to tackle - I just hope I haven't left it too late for this year.

The thing is, I have absolutely no idea where to start. There is now an assortment of grass, weeds and thistles in each. Do I empty all the compost out and start again, or do I just weed?

If I went to a nursery what plants would be idea for pots? I would have no idea what to look for and would want something that was relatively easy to grow. Do I buy plants and put directly into the pots, or do I buy seeds and start them off indoors first? I'm really sorry as I'm sure these are incredibly basic questions but totally alien to me.

Also, last year I successfully grew my first lot of veg, mainly in growbags which I will do again this year. I also had some potaotes in a reuseable bag which is still full of compost in the garden. Can I plant more potatoes directly in to this, or do I need to empty the existing compost first?

Any advice for a total novice would be much appreciated!

Thanks.

Comments

• dbt3mummy
    dbt3mummy Posts: 199 Forumite
    Options
    Hi,

Didn't want to read and run - I might not have much "good" advice as I just make it up as I go along but it doesn't seem an issue for me.