We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

New gardener - advice appreciated.

Options
Hi all,

I'm very new to growing veg.

First year I've attempted it really.

I don't want to be overambitious this first year so my aims are:

Tomatoes, carrots, potatoes, salad and radish.

Tomatoes - I've got two Ailsa Craig plants (were bought from carboot a few weeks back) that are going to be grown indoors near a patio door. They are now around a foot and a half in height, starting to flower and growing up canes in big pots. They received their first feed this weekend. They will remain indoors.

Radishes were planted outside yesterday in a large ceramic pot.

Salad seeds were also sown yesterday in a small bad of compost that I cut open.

Carrots. I'll sow some carrot seeds one evening this week in a large deep plastic pot.

I'd appreciate any advice on growing these things but my main questions are about potatoes.

I'd love to grow some potatoes if it's not too late. I noticed that Wilkos are selling seed potatoes with shoots on. Is it too late to plant these (second earlies, or maincrop (they had Rooster variety off top of my head))? I'm planning on growing them in a wooden frame that I'll build as I add more soil (made from 2x2'a and 2 old pallets).

BaconandEggs.

Comments

• Lotus-eater
    Lotus-eater Posts: 10,789 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    I'd stick your tomatoes out every possible moment, when it's not windy and warm enough.
    They need the extra light and it would help harden them up a little, otherwise they will be way too lush if grown inside the house.

It's not too late to plant spuds, I still haven't done some of mine. It is late and you are going to be risking it with blight, but worth a go. Next year try to get in earlier.