We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Can you help me save some money on veggies this year??

Options
Hi everyone

I'm a bit of a beginner when it comes to growing fruit and veg. For the last couple of years we have had a few tomato and strawberry plants, but that's it really and they haven't done too well.
This year we have bought 2 mini greenhouse and LOADS of seeds. So far we have quite a few tomato plants, some courgette, cucumber and radishes growing.
I've been trying to find out the best way to get good crops this year by Googling, but am just confusing myself really :(
I wondered if I listed what I have, could I possibly get some help with the best way to store them, if they want to be in or out of the greenhouse, how many should be in each pot etc. I am a bit of a numpty really :rotfl:
Mummy to 3 fabulous boys all under 4 :eek:

Comments

• LittleBit_2
    LittleBit_2 Posts: 533 Forumite
    edited 30 April 2011 at 5:32PM
    Options
    Ok, so in seeds we have courgette, lettuce, radish, tomato, broccolli, beetroot, cauliflower, carrots, onions, brussell sprouts, spring onions. All these have yet to be looked at, but I have just bought some little seed trays and inserts today, so was going to plant them this evening and stick them in the airing cupboard. Will they be ok in there in the dark??
  • LittleBit_2
    Options
    Also, will all of the above be ok to be planted in pots?

I have some radishes that seem to be growing ok, but they look to be poking out of the top of the tubs now. Do I just need to put some more soil on the top? Thanks
  • Sambucus_Nigra
    Sambucus_Nigra Posts: 8,669 Forumite
    Options
    First thing - is it a proper greenhouse or a blowaway?
    If you haven't got it - please don't flaunt it. TIA.
  • LittleBit_2