Housing Benefit and others - Disabled student

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Disability Money Matters
6 replies 716 views
TheEffectTheEffect Forumite
2.3K Posts
Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
✭✭✭✭
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Disability Money Matters
Just realised I posted this in the wrong forum previously, I'll get a mod to delete the other thread!

I'm a full-time student at university and am registered disabled as I'm registered severely/partially sighted. I've been receiving lower rate care and mobility DLA for the last few years, but am wondering if I'm eligible for any other benefits?

Does anyone know whether I'd be eligible for anything else?

I was looking at housing benefit as it states you can apply if you're a full-time student with a disability, but not sure if this would apply as I'm in halls at the moment (will be renting a house in September).

Any advise appreciated, thanks! :p

Replies

• GlasweJenGlasweJen Forumite
    7.4K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    You can apply for local housing allowance but your grants and loans are taken into account as income.

Technically as a disabled person you can apply for the single room rate and not the shared room rate but you'd need to actually live in self contained accommodation to get this rate of it.

Aside from that there's not much else, if you have a part time job (16 hours or more) and claim DLA you can also receive working tax credit.
    Bounts, Quidco, Shop and Scan, Receipt Hog, Costco Cashback, Debit card cashback

NOT BUYING IT
    (unless it's on offer and can get my loyalty points)

• TheEffectTheEffect Forumite
    2.3K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    GlasweJen wrote: »
    You can apply for local housing allowance but your grants and loans are taken into account as income.

Technically as a disabled person you can apply for the single room rate and not the shared room rate but you'd need to actually live in self contained accommodation to get this rate of it.