A few quick n00b questions about ISAs

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in ISAs & Tax-free Savings
9 replies 883 views
FrukozFrukoz Forumite
23 Posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in ISAs & Tax-free Savings
Hi - like many others I've just opened a 3.3% cash ISA with Santander and deposited the full amount.

I have a few quick questions as I'm very new to all of this.

1. Do I need to deposit the funds by 6th April for this to count towards the 2010/11 tax year? Or is this based on when the account was actually opened (i.e. today)?
I'm paying by check from another bank so I guess they will send me details on this by post (no emails yet!) and this could cause delays.

2. On 6th April, can I simple deposit a further £5,340 into the SAME account and get the same 3.3% rate. If there are no better rates available then this might be simplest if it's allowed? Also it makes things easier when transferring out to another ISA in 12 months time.

Many thanks to anyone taking the time to respond!

Replies

• KTFKTF Forumite
    4.8K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭
    1. It counts when the money is in the account not when you opened it.

2. Yes, you can make an additional transfer in the new tax year. The only thing you cant do is transfer in from another ISA.
  • SanzaiSanzai Forumite
    61 Posts
    KTF wrote: »
    1. It counts when the money is in the account not when you opened it.

2. Yes, you can make an additional transfer in the new tax year. The only thing you cant do is transfer in from another ISA.
    Though technically what you are talking about doing is adding 'new money' to the account KTF. Best to be careful when mentioning the word 'transfer' in relation to ISAs with people new to it. ;)
  • soulsaversoulsaver Forumite
    3.4K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    Frukoz wrote: »
    Hi - like many others I've just opened a 3.3% cash ISA with Santander and deposited the full amount.