We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Newbie to growing my own - advice for garden plot please

Options
Hi, I am hoping for some advice for my garden as I have just built a long sleeper bed and hope to get moving with it asap. Thing is I have had very little experience of this and have not even bought any tools so... :D

I need advice on tools, seeds and fertilising the soil (it was a heavily shrubbed garden used as a small dogs toilet with the previous owner (try not to think of that too much!).

I want to try to be as natural and organic as possible.

I have not got a greenhouse or south facing windows that can be used. Should I invest in clouches, or a small temporary plastic greenhouse? Are mini poly tunnels in the bed any good?

It's a raised bed (two sleepers high altho on a slope so one end is 1 and half high - the sleepers are on their sides rather than flat - and two and half sleepers long) but I would also like to grow potatoes in a container - maybe old tyres lined somehow? I am thinking a small herb section at one end and I would like some raspberry or some other gorgeous fruit canes as its against a south facing wall.

I know I have to rotate veg per season to enable the soil to recover - do you think I should section it?

Are there things that I should avoid?

I don't have an endless budget for this project as there are many other things I am trying to sort out too but I do want to be successful with growing a small crop. I hope you guys dont mind me picking your brains :o

Thank you for your help in advance :D
Happiness is wanting what you have...
Debt Jan 2017: £2589.22 DFD: [STRIKE]Sept 2022[/STRIKE] April 2022 but this Marching Minimalist can beat that!
Use it or Loose it gym target: Feb'17 5/6 Mar 4/6 :j
EF £0/£4200

Comments