life assurance.

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Insurance & Life Assurance
5 replies 560 views
waynewayne Forumite
317 Posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Insurance & Life Assurance
hi can someone try and explain to me in simple terms why i need both payment protection and life assurance.am i right in thinking if i get a life assurance policy with critical injury and sickness cover i dont need the p/p?I pay £19.31 a month for the p/p and £50.91 a month life ins. so i,m looking to bring these down if poss.Can i just do a life !!!.to cover my mortgage (82,000)and rely on the p/p to cover any other eventualities?also the company i work for does a 3 times annual income if i die whilst in thier employ this would work out at about 62,000 pounds.hope you can make sense of this and will appriciate any advice.thanks in advance.

Replies

• lightspeedlightspeed Forumite
    246 Posts
    I am by no means an expert (in fact, quite the opposite).

But i have also wondered the same thing thing. It appears (to the untrained eye) that if you had both CI and PP, both would payout, one to pay potentially pay off the mortgage and the other to continue paying off my now non-existent mortgage.

I have pondered with what insurances to take out and am still non the wiser as to which is best value for money. The only one that i see the 100% benefit of would be life insurance because its reasonably priced and there is no grey area as to when it pays out (you are either dead or not).

You may be interested in reading http://www.abi.org.uk/Display/File/Child/452/ABI_CI_Definitions_Guide_2004.pdf. This is what made me question the actual value of CI cover.

It maybe worth reading the small print as to what PP pays out for and then what CI pays out for, then see how much of an overlap there is.
  • moneywise_2moneywise_2 Forumite
    74 Posts
    hi wayne