Nuvos Civil Service Pension, am i right?

edited 30 April 2009 at 9:23PM in Pensions, Annuities & Retirement Planning
6 replies 1.7K views
JimLadJimLad Forumite
918 Posts
Mortgage-free Glee! Rampant Recycler Xmas Saver!
Hello Everyone,

I am very very new to the world of pensions but am starting my first propper job since university in a few weeks. I am 23 years old and will be starting in the civil service on a salary of £18,325. I have been sent information about the pension schemes and obviously want to start early to get maximum benefit but i am confused about my options.

As far as i can tell the Nuvos scheme is the best option but could any fellow civil servants advise me if what i think below is wrong?

Every month i have to pay 3.5% of my salary into my pension fund. To start with this would be 3.5% of £1527 which is about £54 totalling £648 in the year.

If for example i stayed within the civil service until retirement at 65 which is 42 years away this would be £648 * 42 = £27216 + RPI.

I know my salary is likely to increase but this seems like a very small amount to survive on in retirement and works out at like £1.5k per year if im around till ancient, or am i not grasping this system correctly? Do i get that 27k per year, surley thats too much?

Im sorry if i sound moronic or anything :o
Mortgage Free 22/03/17
MissWillow is my OH!

Replies

• sleepless_saversleepless_saver Forumite
    2.7K Posts
    Part of the Furniture
    ✭✭✭✭
    It doesn't work quite like that. Have a look at the scheme leaflet. You will see that you will be a lot better off than your worst fears of £1.5k a year. Remember it's not like a pension fund.
  • edited 30 April 2009 at 9:56PM
    JimLadJimLad Forumite
    918 Posts
    edited 30 April 2009 at 9:56PM
    It doesn't work quite like that. Have a look at the scheme leaflet. You will see that you will be a lot better off than your worst fears of £1.5k a year. Remember it's not like a pension fund.