credit cards! :)

Options
ok here goes! . . . . . .

i'm going to be 18 in like a few days!!! i am soo credit card obsessed! dont have any yet and im think that yes! two or three would be good.

is there any advice as to what ones? basically im a student and have an ok part time job! i work for a bank Abbey! (yes i know , but it pays the bills) and i earn ok wages, and have a student loan and bursary so financially i am doing really well, however, I just also want to know long lone after i am 18 b4 i apply for a credit card? can any1 help?

thanks

B :P

Comments

• cash-magnet
    cash-magnet Posts: 320 Forumite
    Options
    "i am soo credit card obsessed!"

That is a worrying statement to read. Why do you need to get more than one to start off your financial life, assuming you could find 3 card companies willing to give you 3 cards?

I wouldn't advise you rush out and apply for 3 all at once. That may just scare the credit card companies when they see 3 applications all at once from someone with no credit history, and all 3 might turn you down. You now start off your financial life with 3 declines on your file. Getting any credit will have just got a whole lot harder for you.

Maybe get an Abbey credit card from your bank and use it wisely for the first 6 months to build up a solid credit base. I am sure your employee will give you a better deal than most other places and I think that would be your best place to start.

Good luck, and don't go on a mad spending spree in the first week and end up paying for it for the next 10 years!
    "Click the pennies. Collect the pounds."
    456789 Posts: 2,305 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    I don't think you understand what the implications of having a credit card are

if you somehow ended up with 2 or 3 you would be back posting in a few months saying you can't pay them off....