Equigas meter prob

Options
hi guys got a letter today informing me that my meter is broken... I would only have to put £1 pound on the gas card pop it in my meter to fix it....

let me give you a little background and see what you think...

In April this year I started putting a little money each week on the meter while not using the gas as I have only one gas radiator and its off during the summer.I work as a temp and I can loose my job any week..I know for a fact the factory I work at is closing..turns out it will be about Christmas time but I managed to "save" up 100 pounds and began using this in September..its about 5 to 7 pounds a week depending on tempreture ...weather etc etc..

during a phone call to Southern Electric I was told that amongst other things that I was not using enough gas...also I should top up every day !!! and that the meter would need replacing and I would have to pay ..!
Obviously "to me" I had paid for the gas or some of it a least at the old price and they were now trying to force up the price on the meter... the letter also states that unless I put the £1 on I would start to be billed for the extra gas....that I had got for "free"

to me a contact is a contract and if I buy gas at that price thats the deal...I don,t get billed for the petrol in my car the day after the price goes up..!

Can they do this..?..is,nt it just what they do when the by gas on the open market...
will they send me a letter when the prices fall and tell me to put a pound on the gas meter so I get it at the lower rate...?
some how I doubt it...

where do I stand legally if I don,t pay the bill... I,m not asking them for the interest on the pre-paid money...
by the way I have also over payed on both my last electric bills by 100 pounds because of my job situation ...
good customer or what...or maybe just dumb..!
thanks for any replies...

:rotfl:

Tony

Comments

• tonester
    Options
    sorry for the double post my mistake
  • Pssst