🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Advice needed on job situation.(Long post, sorry!)

Options
Hi All,
I wonder if anyone can give me some good advice on what to do here as I'm in a bit of a quandry. I work as a self-employed cleaner for private houses. Some of my work is through an agency and some from my own advertising. I have one couple (from the agency) I work for who I have been with for nearly four years and they are lovely. I do get lots of perks from them such as really nice Christmas presents, occasional meals etc. I work for them for 12 hours a week. They are currently having a lot of work done on their house. In exchange for helping to take out their kitchen, they gave me the kitchen units to install in our flat and also the washing machine and tumble dryer which they had decided to replace. Since then however I have received several text messages asking me not to come to work as the house is in too much of a mess. I am losing a lot of money which I can't afford to do (see signature). This time off was not planned in any way, and what upsets/annoys me is that the texts are quite blunt and also that if I take a day off at all they get quite annoyed and say they need someone for that amount of time to keep up with all the work. I haven't had a pay rise in the four years I've been with them and do quite a lot of extras like running them to the train station (no reimbursement for diesel) and collecting/delivering dry-cleaning, recycling and shopping. I'm at a loss what to do. I went in on Friday and there was no animosity at all but no mention of them not wanting me today, then at 9.30pm Sunday I receive a text saying "Don't