Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > Energy > How'd you work out Gas consumption? (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
How'd you work out Gas consumption?
Closed Thread
Views: 24,577
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
Smithmeister
Old 01-04-2008, 9:43 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 110
Default How'd you work out Gas consumption?

Hi all,

I'm looking for a really easy way of working out my yearly gas consumption so i can compare my gas and electricity bill.
I am currently with ScottishPower on their capped rate which ends this month.
My Electricity consumption for the year is 5267 units and my gas is 629 units. So as far as ican see my electricity consumption is pretty straight forward but the gas is perplexing me slightly!

Any help and advice is greatly appreciated.

Smithmeister
Smithmeister is offline
Report Post
# 2
withabix
Old 01-04-2008, 9:47 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Was Carlisle, now British Columbia!
Posts: 8,946
Default

2. Gas (kWh) - this is measured in units on your meter but paid for by kilowatt hour (kWh). To calculate how many kilowatt hours of gas you have used in each bill, take the number of gas units used (if you have an imperial meter, multiply the figure by 2.83), now multiply the gas units used by the calorific value (39.7) and the correction factor (1.022640), and then divide by 3.6.

In your case:

kWh = 629 x 39.7 x 1.022640/3.6 = 7093.51kWh (if metric meter)

x 2.83 if imperial
Every Little Helps me fly the world with Tesco!

BA Avios current balance: Approx 350,000

Last edited by withabix; 01-04-2008 at 9:57 PM. Reason: corrected for imperial/metric
withabix is offline
Report Post
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to withabix For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 3
Cardew
Old 01-04-2008, 9:52 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 22,738
Default

There are 2 types of gas meter - Imperial and Metric

Imperial(the older type) measures in cubic feet. 1 unit is 100 cubic feet and approx 31kWh.*

Metric measures in cubic metres and 1 unit is approx 11.1kWh.

So you have used either 19,500kWh or 7,000kWh so you probably have an Imperial meter.

* can vary slightly depending on calorific value.
Cardew is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Cardew For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 4
withabix
Old 01-04-2008, 9:55 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Was Carlisle, now British Columbia!
Posts: 8,946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cardew View Post
There are 2 types of gas meter - Imperial and Metric

Imperial(the older type) measures in cubic feet. 1 unit is 100 cubic feet and approx 31kWh.*

Metric measures in cubic metres and 1 unit is approx 11.1kWh.

So you have used either 19,500kWh or 7,000kWh so you probably have an Imperial meter.

* can vary slightly depending on calorific value.

You could be right.

My gas and electricity consumption over a year are approx equal in kWh however (well, certainly of similar magnitude anyway).
Every Little Helps me fly the world with Tesco!

BA Avios current balance: Approx 350,000
withabix is offline
Report Post
# 5
Smithmeister
Old 01-04-2008, 10:30 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 110
Default

Daft question
How do i know if i've got an Imperial or Metric?
It's a huge difference!!
Smithmeister is offline
Report Post
# 6
Cardew
Old 01-04-2008, 10:35 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 22,738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithmeister View Post
Daft question
How do i know if i've got an Imperial or Metric?
It's a huge difference!!
Look at the meter and it will say "cu ft" for an Imperial or M3(metres cubed) for metric.

This is normally in small print at the bottom of the dial.

Also look at your gas bill, if the number of gas units x 31 equals the kWh you are being charged for Imperial.
Cardew is offline
Report Post
# 7
Smithmeister
Old 01-04-2008, 10:43 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 110
Default

Thanks Cardew,

Had a quick gander there and my meter has got FT3 so i assume that that is imperial as it is closer to cuft than M3?
Smithmeister is offline
Report Post
# 8
Smithmeister
Old 01-04-2008, 10:52 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 110
Default

have had a look at my last bill and it reads:
Description Domestic Capped Start 9083 End 11 Units 208 Price(kwh@p) 6655@2.136 = £142.15 Standing charge 82 days @9.990 = £8.19 Total £150.34.

Maybe this will make it easier.

Cheers

Last edited by Smithmeister; 01-04-2008 at 10:53 PM. Reason: Wrong image
Smithmeister is offline
Report Post
# 9
Cardew
Old 01-04-2008, 10:57 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 22,738
Default

Yes it is Imperial. FT3 is Feet cubed!

On your latest bill 1 unit equals almost 32kWh.

So in the comparison site enter 20,000kWh
Cardew is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Cardew For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 10
Smithmeister
Old 01-04-2008, 11:20 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 110
Default

Appreciate your help Cardew.
Imagine not getting cubic foot from FT3,what a numpty!
Smithmeister is offline
Report Post
# 11
si_pritch
Old 04-01-2009, 8:14 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

I'm a little confused.

I am trying to work out if our gas pre payment meter is overcharging us. According to my meter, I have used 41106 units in a given period, at a cost of 20. (it's in metric)

How do I work out how much that is in KWh and then how much each KWh has cost me, so that I can compare this to the quoted prices on British Gas' website?

I have a feeling something is not quite right here, especially since the originator of this post used 600 odd units in a year!

Thanks in advance - having lurked here for a little while, I know that reponses are always helpful and informative!!

si_pritch is offline
Report Post
# 12
Magentasue
Old 04-01-2009, 8:19 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by si_pritch View Post
I'm a little confused.

I am trying to work out if our gas pre payment meter is overcharging us. According to my meter, I have used 41106 units in a given period, at a cost of 20. (it's in metric)

How do I work out how much that is in KWh and then how much each KWh has cost me, so that I can compare this to the quoted prices on British Gas' website?

I have a feeling something is not quite right here, especially since the originator of this post used 600 odd units in a year!

Thanks in advance - having lurked here for a little while, I know that reponses are always helpful and informative!!

Where did you get 41106 from? I suspect it's from your statement - this isn't meter units, it's been converted into kwh.

20 for 41106kwh = about 4.8p per kwh.
Magentasue is offline
Report Post
# 13
si_pritch
Old 04-01-2009, 8:42 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for getting back to me so quick.

I'm on a prepayment card, so never get a bill. I use a top up type card, put money on it at a shop, then put the card into the box next to the meter to use gas.

Reading taken when no credit on machine at start - 2715037
Reading taken when no credit on machine at end - 2756143

So, I get 41106 unit used.

Does this seem a little excessive, especially if I tell you we have had the heating on for 3 hours a day, plus hot water and cooking - start reading was taken 30/12/08, end reading taken 03/01/09.

And no, we don't eat like pigs, or use lots of hot water!

thanks in advance again!

Last edited by si_pritch; 04-01-2009 at 9:00 PM. Reason: Put the numbers in the wrong way around!!
si_pritch is offline
Report Post
# 14
Magentasue
Old 04-01-2009, 8:56 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,215
Default

Ah, I have no experience of prepay - not unless you count when I was a child and we fed it shillings.

I'm now thinking that you are reading too many digits on the display - are some red or different in some way?
Magentasue is offline
Report Post
# 15
si_pritch
Old 04-01-2009, 9:01 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Nope - all the number look exactly the same, with no divider / points in between - on a digital readout.
si_pritch is offline
Report Post
# 16
kat1982
Old 04-01-2009, 9:05 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 23
Default

imperial meters have four dials in the black, metric have five
kat1982 is offline
Report Post
# 17
si_pritch
Old 04-01-2009, 9:07 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

It's a digital meter display, so there are no dials at all.
si_pritch is offline
Report Post
# 18
Magentasue
Old 04-01-2009, 9:41 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,215
Default

In that case, I think you only use the first four digits which makes yours 41 for four days.

Imperial = approx 41 x 31 = 1271
Metric = approx 41 x 11 = 451

So metric = 451kwh for 20

I think that makes sense.
Magentasue is offline
Report Post
# 19
Cardew
Old 04-01-2009, 9:42 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 22,738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by si_pritch View Post
Thanks for getting back to me so quick.

I'm on a prepayment card, so never get a bill. I use a top up type card, put money on it at a shop, then put the card into the box next to the meter to use gas.

Reading taken when no credit on machine at start - 2715037
Reading taken when no credit on machine at end - 2756143

So, I get 41106 unit used.

Does this seem a little excessive, especially if I tell you we have had the heating on for 3 hours a day, plus hot water and cooking - start reading was taken 30/12/08, end reading taken 03/01/09.
41106 gas units used would cost about 18,000.00

I suggest the last 3 digits are decimal places(are they in red?) so you have used 41.106 gas units which is approx 460kWh.

If you are paying 4p/kWh that is approx 18.40
Cardew is offline
Report Post
# 20
Magentasue
Old 04-01-2009, 9:47 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,215
Default

Or, taking what kat said, maybe the first five digits, which would make it 411kwh over four days.
Magentasue is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 1:23 AM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 20 August 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

TuneChecker Top Albums

  • ED SHEERANX (DELUXE EDITION)
  • VARIOUS ARTISTSNOW THAT'S WHAT I CALL MUSIC! 88
  • COLLABROSTARS

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.