IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

• Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

• No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Boat hire on the Norfolk Broads
Closed Thread
Views: 6,640
# 1
WOW Factor 0
butterfly72
Old 23-02-2008, 11:01 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan

Default Boat hire on the Norfolk Broads

Does anyone know if boating on the Norfolk broads is a good idea at this time of the year or best done in the spring/summer months? The OH and I are considering a few days in the next few weeks. We are complete novices and a bit nervous about managing a boat so wondered if now was a good time (not too bothered about the cold.. just the handling the boat thats worrying us ie currents, winds etc, we've no idea of conditions on the norfolk broads!). We just fancied doing something a bit different thats all!!

Also, any company recommendations?

thanks
Increasing my house deposit
Increasing my pension
Horse fund: 8/8K - horse hunting starts Sept 13
# 2
moonrakerz
Old 24-02-2008, 10:33 AM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan

The Broads can be a bit bleak and desolate this time of the year, I would leave it until Apr/May when it should be a bit warmer and not too busy. In mid summer it can be a nightmare - too many boats, everywhere !

Don't worry about handling the boat, the yard will show you the controls and take you for a "spin" before you are let loose on the rest of us. When you get away from the yard find a quiet mooring and spend half an hour going in and out and finding out how the boat handles.
I would go for the type of boat which can be steered from below, in the dry; or up top, in the sunshine. The high position is a boon when coming alongside.